Haslach

  • The memorial site at the Vulkan
  • Inmates in Haslach
  • The camp “Sportplatz”
  • Inside the mines of the Vulkan

 

Official sites: >> Homepage Memorial, >> Homepage Path of Remembrance
Address: >>Google Maps
Opening hours – barrier: May-Sept: 9 am to 7 pm, Oct-April: 10 to 5 pm
Head of the Memorial Site: Sören Fuß, Breitestraße 4, 77716 Haslach, Tel. 07832 / 2105, info(at)gedenkstaette-vulkan.de
Youth Work Group: Mathias Meier-Gerwig, Tel. 07803 / 8043842, kontakt(at)erinnerungsweg-haslach.de
Sponsors of the facility:
Initiative Gedenkstätte Vulkan, Working Group of the Historical Association Haslach

Memorial Vulkan

The memorial site Vulkan has existed since 25 July 1998. It is on the slopes of the Urenwald near Haslach where over 1,700 men from 21 nations suffered and many had to die.
The monument of the Haslach artist Frieder Haser is the central point of the memorial site.

Twelve information boards document the history of three Haslach camps with texts and pictures. Remaining ruins point at the former crusher and the mountain station of a cableway which led several kilometres through the town. The gloomy entry of a drainage tunnel suggests the horrendous incidents which took place inside this mountain in the mines.

On 30th November 2012 the youth work group of the memorial site Vulkan inaugurated the path of remembrance which follows the persecution and suffering of the forced labourers: at six historical sites in town information boards give a glimpse of the past:

In 1944 The Reichsrüstungsamt/ The Reich office of armaments resolved to relocate the German armaments factory production below ground as “bombproof” as possible due to the increasing bombardment. At the same time, due to the great lack of labour forces, but also for ideological reasons ever more efforts were made to involve and exploit the camp inmates in the production processes.

In late summer 1944 the additional problem arose for the national socialists that the existing camps in Alsace, Natzweiler-Struthof and Schirmeck-Vorbruck had to be cleared due to the ever more imminent approach of the front. An widespread wave of arrests in Alsace, in Lorraine and the bordering regions led to a large number of available forced labourers.

These were the conditions which led to 1,700 prisoners from 21 countries being crammed into the three Haslach camps and being forced to hardest physical labour from September 1944 to April 1945. In the existing Haslach mines the intention was to involve four different companies such as Daimler-Ben, Mannesmann and Messerschmitt in the production, however, this plan no longer got started to the envisaged extent.
The prisoners in all the camps had to suffer inhumane conditions, they were tormented, under these conditions were exposed to the inevitable camp diseases and killings.

Over 220 prisoners known by name lost their lives in Haslach.
Hundreds of prisoners died in other camps to which they were deported from Haslach on the notorious death marches or they only survived the war for a short time.

Educational Offer

>> Memorial Vulkan

At the memorial Vulkan twelve documentation boards invite you to intensive confrontation discussions with the history of Haslach camps. Upon prior request staff members are at disposal for further more detailed information, talks and discussions. For school classes and visitor groups of all kind, detailed presentations are offered by arrangement.

>> Path of Remembrance

On the Path of Remembrance the visitor follows the trail of the forced labourers of the three Haslach camps straight through the town, by embarking on a journey into the past. The Path of Remembrance covers six stations:
Station 1 The Railway Station
Station 2 Camp Kinzigdamm
Station 3 Camp Sportplatz
Station 4 The Guards
Station 5 The Mass Grave
Station 6 Camp Vulkan

Thanks to its modular setup it is, of course possible to make your way more individually along the Path of Remembrance. You find various work materials on the individual stations on the homepage (www.erinnerungsweg-haslach.de). These local stations are supplemented by a series of selected individual fates of prisoners.

Publications

Sören Fuß: Gedenkstätte Vulkan (Broschüre) 1998
Sören Fuß: Gedenkstätte Vulkan – Haslach im Kinzigtal, in: Die Ortenau, 81. Jg. 2001, S. 533–544
Manfred Hildenbrand: Die „Hölle“ von Haslach: Die beiden Konzentrationslager „Kinzigdamm“ und „Vulkan“, in: Die Ortenau, 73. Jg. 1993, S. 456–479

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Haslach

  • Die Gedenkstätte am Vulkan
  • Häftlinge in Haslach
  • Das Lager "Sportplatz"
  • Im Vulkan

 

Gedenkstätte Vulkan

Die Gedenkstätte Vulkan besteht seit dem 25. Juli 1998. Sie befindet sich am Berghang des Urenwaldes nahe Haslach, wo über 1.700 Männer aus 21 Nationen leiden und viele von ihnen sterben mussten.
Zentraler Punkt der Gedenkstätte ist das Mahnmal des Haslacher Künstlers Frieder Haser.

Zwölf Informationstafeln dokumentieren in Text und Bild die Geschichte der drei Haslacher Lager. Ruinenreste weisen auf das ehemalige Brechwerk und die Bergstation einer Seilbahn hin, die über mehrere Kilometer in die Stadt führte. Der düstere Eingang eines Entwässerungsstollens lässt die schrecklichen Ereignisse erahnen, die sich im Innern dieses Berges in den Stollen abspielten.

Am 30. November 2012 eröffnete der Jugendarbeitskreis der Gedenkstätte Vulkan den Weg des Erinnerns, welcher dem Leidensweg der Zwangsarbeiter folgt: An sechs historischen Orten in der Stadt eröffnen Informationstafeln einen Blick in die Vergangenheit:

Im Jahr 1944 beschloss das Reichsrüstungsamt wegen der zunehmenden Bombardierung der deutschen Fabriken die Rüstungsproduktion so weit wie möglich „bombensicher“ untertage zu verlagern. Gleichzeitig war man wegen dem großen Arbeitskräftemangel aber auch aus ideologischen Gründen immer mehr bestrebt die Lagerhäftlinge im Produktionsprozess einzuspannen und auszubeuten.

Im Spätsommer 1944 ergab sich für die Nationalsozialisten zusätzlich das Problem, dass die bestehenden Lager im Elsass, Natzweiler-Struthof und Schirmeck-Vorbruck, wegen der näher rückenden Front geräumt werden mussten. Eine umfangreiche Verhaftungswelle im Elsass, in Lothringen und den angrenzenden Gebieten führte zudem zu einer großen Zahl von verfügbaren Zwangsarbeitern.

Dies waren die Bedingungen, die dazu führten, dass von September 1944 bis April 1945 1.700 Häftlinge aus 21 Ländern in den drei Haslacher Lagern eingepfercht und zur Schwerstarbeit gezwungen wurden. In den bestehenden Haslacher Bergwerkstollen waren verschiedene Firmen wie Daimler-Benz, Mannesmann und Messerschmitt für die Produktion vorgesehen, die allerdings nicht mehr im geplanten Umfang in Gang kam.
Die Häftlinge hatten in allen Lagern unter menschenunwürdigen Verhältnissen zu leiden, sie wurden drangsaliert, waren den unter diesen Verhältnissen unvermeidlichen Lagerkrankheiten ausgesetzt und es kam auch zu Tötungen.

Mehr als 220 namentlich bekannte Häftlinge haben in Haslach ihr Leben lassen müssen.
Hunderte von Häftlingen starben in anderen Lagern, in die sie von Haslach aus verschleppt wurden, auf den berüchtigten Todesmärschen oder sie überlebten den Krieg nur um kurze Zeit.

Bildungsangebot

>> Gedenkstätte Vulkan

An der Gedenkstätte Vulkan laden zwölf Dokumentationstafeln zur intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte der Haslacher Lager ein. Nach vorheriger Anfrage stehen Mitarbeiter für weitergehende Informationen, Gespräche und Diskussionen zur Verfügung. Für Schulklassen und Besuchergruppen aller Art werden nach Vereinbarung ausführliche Vorträge angeboten.

>> Weg des Erinnerns

Auf dem Weg des Erinnerns folgt der Besucher den Spuren der Zwangsarbeiter der drei Haslacher Lager quer durch die Stadt, indem er sich selbst auf eine Reise in die Vergangenheit begibt. Der Weg des Erinnerns erstreckt sich über sechs Stationen:
Station 1 Der Bahnhof
Station 2 Lager Kinzigdamm
Station 3 Lager Sportplatz
Station 4 Die Wachmannschaft
Station 5 Das Massengrab
Station 6 Lager Vulkan

Selbstverständlich ist der Weg des Erinnerns dank seines modularen Aufbaus auch nach den eigenen Möglichkeiten individuell zu begehen. Zu den einzelnen Stationen finden sich auf der Homepage (www.erinnerungsweg-haslach.de) verschiedene Arbeitsmaterialien. Ergänzt werden diese lokalen Stationen durch eine Reihe ausgewählter Einzelschicksale von Häftlingen.

Publikationen

Sören Fuß: Gedenkstätte Vulkan (Broschüre) 1998
Sören Fuß: Gedenkstätte Vulkan – Haslach im Kinzigtal, in: Die Ortenau, 81. Jg. 2001, S. 533–544
Manfred Hildenbrand: Die „Hölle“ von Haslach: Die beiden Konzentrationslager „Kinzigdamm“ und „Vulkan“, in: Die Ortenau, 73. Jg. 1993, S. 456–479

Print Friendly, PDF & Email